Trudy Johnson – You’re No Good

Trudy Johnsons Version von Clint Ballards Hit „You’re No Good“ ist weit unbekannter als die von Betty Everett, Dee Dee Warwick, den Swinging Blue Jeans oder Linda Ronstadt (gähn!). Bevor ich die 7″ zufällig entdeckt habe, war mir Trudy Johnson sogar völlig unbekannt und ich denke, es wird nicht wenigen genauso gehen.

Trudy hat ihre Karriere 1959 als Nachtclub-Sängerin begonnen. Nancy Wilson entdeckte die Sängerin mit der tiefen Stimme, als sie mit der Band „The Spiders“ auftrat. Trudy übernahm in der Folge viele Jobs, kam aber nie an die Spitze. Sie war drei Jahre lang Mitglied der Lionel Hampton Band und machte die Anheizerin für verschiedene Motown- und Capitol-Stars. U.a. arbeitete sie mit Marvin Gaye, B.B.King, Lou Rawls, Otis Redding und Ike & Tina Turner zusammen.

Die einzige Platte, die sie in dieser Zeit als Solo-Künstlerin aufnahm, ist offenbar „Your Good Thing (Is About To End)“/“You’re No Good“.

Trudy Johnson ist immer noch aktiv und dabei sogar relativ erfolgreich. U.a. gewann sie den Northern California 2004 Jazz and Blues Hall of Fame Award. Ihr aktuelles Album heißt „Lady J“.

Ich finde ihre Stimme großartig und sie passt eigentlich sehr gut zur zuvor besprochenen Marie „Queenie“ Lyons, wobei Trudy vom Temperament her eher der Gegenpol zur explosiven Queenie ist.

Wede

trudy_01Trudy Johnson – You’re No Good

trudy_02Trudy Johnson – Your Good Thing

ladyjusa

9 Antworten zu Trudy Johnson – You’re No Good

  1. steven inch sagt:

    Marie “Queenie” JONES???

  2. soulgarage sagt:

    Uuuups!

  3. I’m so greatful to here my recordings being featured on your website. I have read your disclaimer indicating your site as a „not for profit“ site. If that is the true case I applude you for such a nice gesture and opportunity for others to here other great talent.

    Believe it or not I have no recording of this record for my own, after that recording Capitol Records and my managements relationship took a turn. I see that you have noticed I’m still active in the music industry from my present personal website. If you know of any musical opportuinties, there in your area please forward to me and / or my management.

    rasta1rad@yahoo.com.

    • soulgarage sagt:

      hi trudy, i realy love your record. your voice is great! it would be a pleasure to send you a cd with the tracks if you’d like to have it. if you’re planing to come to europe, i’ll try to find an opportunity for you to perform in berlin.

  4. Yes I would like to have a copy to remember that wonderful moment in time.What would you need to make this happen? I just have 2 questions

    1. is this post area just for your reading or all to see? If I were to post an address for you.
    2. If this is the only way for you to receive a ship to address, let me know I can provide.

    Thank you so much for the offer.

    • soulgarage sagt:

      hi trudy,
      send me your address via „Kontakt“. nobody else will see it.
      i’ll record the tracks in high quality and add a high-resolution scan of the record.

  5. Performing in Berlin would be a great opportunity, there is no immediate plans for a trip. for I’m wrapping up a 3 month engagment here in Northern California and Reno Nevada.

    I have not any contacts of possibilities at this time for venues outside the USA. If you have any venues / clubs that I can submitt my recent promo package to please use my email address to forward. That would be a great first step of getting over there. I will be finish with Northern California / Reno end of September. Thanks in advance for all you have done

  6. […] Dee Warwick – You’re No Good Nachdem ich hier bereits Trudy Johnsons unbekannte, aber großartige Coverversion von Clint Ballard Jr.s „You’re No Good“ […]

Schreibe einen Kommentar

